Reader and market research: Reflexology Revisited
Research checked: 27 September 2026. Scope: a bounded developmental-edit input for a book about touch, attention, client experience, and Ruth's tentative Reflexology Wave idea. Primary reader remains provisionally a curious general reader; practitioners are secondary. This research does not establish title-level demand, readership size, medical efficacy, or the validity of the Wave.
Editorial conclusion
The strongest current connection is a readable account of what careful touch and attention can feel like, with a few optional ways to notice ordinary experience. Lead with recognizable situations and Ruth's observations; let the scientific uncertainties remain visible. Recent evidence supports testing that presentation. It does not support converting the manuscript into a comprehensive stress cure, a digital-detox program, or a new neuroscience system.
The available measurements answer different questions:
- Publishing revenue: what publishers receive across broad categories and formats.
- Retail print activity: what tracked outlets sell, with incomplete market coverage.
- Population attitudes: what sampled people report about stress, connection, or media.
- Wellness consumer research: reported priorities and purchases, alongside commercial forecasts.
None measures willingness to buy this manuscript. Avoid describing a large wellness economy as the book's addressable market.
Seven-source ledger
1. AAP: full-year publishing context
AAP StatShot Annual, calendar 2025, published 10 August 2026; measures calendar 2025, United States.
Source finding: Estimated trade publishing revenue rose 2.7% to $21.7 billion. Adult nonfiction revenue rose 1.3% to $6.0 billion. Print accounted for 76.3% of trade revenue.
Method/coverage: Industry Insights combined participating publishers' submissions, government statistics, historical data, market benchmarks and other industry research. The public release does not state the annual participant count; this is a modeled industry estimate, not a household sample.
Limits: Revenue is not copies, readership, profitability, or a reflexology category result. Prices and format mix affect revenue. Use the primary release's 1.3% adult-nonfiction figure: one secondary report gives 1.6%, so do not mix them. No headline here establishes a self-help boom.
2. AAP: more recent revenue snapshot
AAP July 2026 StatShot, published 22 September 2026; measures July and January–July 2026, United States.
Source finding: Reported trade revenue was up 5.5% year to date, at $5.4 billion; trade paperback revenue was up 10.8%, and digital audio up 12.6%.
Method/coverage: Net U.S. publisher revenue across retail, wholesale, direct and other channels; StatShot draws from more than 1,416 publishers, with participation varying.
Limits: This participating-publisher series differs from the annual extrapolated total above. Restatements and changing participation affect comparisons. It does not isolate this book's topic or predict its sales. Audio growth warrants keeping prose understandable aloud if an audio edition is later considered; it does not establish an audio-first strategy.
3. Circana: the closest retail behavior evidence
Turning the Page on 2026 Book Trends, published 8 May 2026; principally Q1 2026, U.S. books.
Source finding: Circana reports growth in screen-free categories including guided journals, needlework, puzzles and coloring. It also describes interest in narrative nonfiction offering emotional relief, including humor and hobbies, alongside declines across adult fiction and nonfiction genres.
Method/coverage: A commercial analyst summary using BookScan point-of-sale data, e-commerce information and forecasting tools. BookScan's published coverage is approximately 85% of U.S. trade print sales. No respondent sample; the summary supplies no unit totals or growth percentages for the relevant nonfiction categories.
Limits: Observed category growth and the analyst's explanations of motives are different evidence. The article also includes predictions. Journals and craft books are not reflexology books. Treat this as support for testing useful participation, not a reason to turn Ruth's manuscript into a workbook.
4. Pew: connection without a universal loneliness story
Men, Women and Social Connections, published 16 January 2025; fieldwork 3–15 September 2024, United States.
Source finding: 16% of adults reported feeling lonely or isolated all or most of the time; 38% sometimes; 47% hardly ever or never. Men and women reported broadly similar loneliness frequency.
Method/coverage: 6,204 adults; nationally representative survey using the American Trends Panel, with Black and Hispanic oversamples from the SSRS Opinion Panel. Panels use probability-based recruitment.
Limits: Self-report, question wording and thresholds matter. Fieldwork is just beyond the preceding 24 months as of this research date. It neither measures touch preferences nor tests reflexology. A book can welcome people interested in connection without assuming loneliness, or targeting one gender on that basis.
5. APA: stress, unmet support and information concerns
Stress in America 2025: A Crisis of Connection, released 6 November 2025 (APA-issued release); fieldwork 4–24 August 2025, United States.
Source finding: Average reported stress remained about five out of ten. 69% said they needed more emotional support in the past year than they received; 69% identified inaccurate or misleading information as a significant source of stress, versus 62% in 2024.
Method/coverage: Harris online survey; national sample of 3,199 adults aged 18+, with additional racial/ethnic oversampling and demographic weighting. Opt-in respondents; the stated Bayesian interval is not a probability-sample margin of error.
Limits: Associations do not establish causes or treatment effects. Its loneliness scale and categories differ from Pew's, so the percentages cannot demonstrate a year-to-year increase between studies. Direct page fetch was blocked; the indexed primary report supplied the findings and methodology. These data do not establish specific distrust of wellness books.
6. Ofcom: digital overload is uneven, and access still matters
Adults' Media Use and Attitudes 2026, published 2 April 2026; fieldwork 29 September–28 November 2025, United Kingdom.
Source finding: The report's online-attitudes section says 40% felt screen time was too high every day or most days. It also records benefits from online learning and wellbeing activities. Separately, 6% of all adults lacked home internet access.
Method/coverage: 7,533 UK adults aged 16+, mixed online-panel and face-to-face fieldwork; online module 3 base 3,497. See methodology, printed p.7; online attitudes, pp.36–38; exclusion, p.42.
Limits: These are UK attitudes, not U.S. book demand or evidence that screens caused distress. Survey restructuring means year-on-year comparisons require caution. A new screen-time question cannot establish a rising trend. Accessibility is broader than internet access; this survey does not specify this manuscript's readers' physical or sensory needs.
7. McKinsey: consumer context, with a date correction
Future of Wellness trends, published 29 May 2025. The PDF's exhibit footnotes date the survey November 2024, not 2025.
Source finding: 84% of U.S. respondents rated wellness a top or important priority. The report describes a segment that seeks scientific support while also using alternative products, and reports interest in in-person services.
Method/coverage: More than 9,000 consumers across China, Germany, the UK and U.S.; U.S. exhibits show n=3,700. Full recruitment, weighting and exact field dates are not disclosed in the public article.
Limits: Commercial research combining self-reports, segmentation, market estimates and forecasts. Purchase intentions are not realized sales. Its selected growth categories partly reflect investor interest and deal activity. This is no evidence for the Wave, and neither wellness spending totals nor enthusiasm for services should be converted into projected book sales.
Three timely connections that fit the manuscript
These are editorial interpretations and proposals, not findings that the sources tested.
1. Give attention a tangible, ordinary setting
Evidence: Circana's category observations and Ofcom's mixed attitudes toward screens suggest a plausible context for modest, physical participation (sources 3 and 6).
Application: After a strong scene, offer a brief optional invitation to notice contact, pace or comfort, followed by an ordinary-language question. Keep the main narrative rewarding for someone who skips every exercise. Test whether these moments deepen understanding rather than interrupt it. The book can offer a few minutes of attention without promising to repair a reader's relationship with technology.
2. Show what being attended to involves
Evidence: Pew and APA support asking about connection and unmet support, while their results resist a claim that all readers share one emotional condition (sources 4 and 5).
Application: Develop concrete scenes of listening, checking pressure, inviting a change and accepting a refusal. Different clients should be allowed different reactions, including no striking reaction. Ruth's presence can be the narrative subject without turning her into a therapist or presenting reflexology as a response to a population-level loneliness problem.
3. Make uncertainty part of the reader's trust
Evidence: APA records concern about misleading information; McKinsey reports interest in scientific support among some wellness consumers (sources 5 and 7). Neither proves a mass backlash against wellness publishing.
Application: Make it easy to distinguish a client's report, Ruth's observation, an explanatory possibility and an established research finding. Introduce the Wave with its provisional status where the idea first appears. A general reader should be able to remain interested while disagreeing. The book's appeal can rest on perceptiveness, candor and usefulness without requiring assent to a mechanism.
Reader needs to investigate, rather than assume
| Question | Current evidence | Editorial test |
|---|---|---|
| Is stress the reader's main reason to pick up this book? | Population stress context exists; no title-specific purchase evidence. | Give sample readers several possible descriptions; ask which actually matches their reason for reading. |
| Do readers want a break from screens? | Mixed UK attitudes and adjacent U.S. print-category growth. | Test one self-contained offline invitation; do not make app access necessary. |
| Do readers want human connection through touch? | Connection surveys do not measure willingness to receive touch. | Ask whether consent and alternatives feel clear; include permission simply to read or observe. |
| What makes participation accessible? | Internet exclusion is documented; manuscript-specific needs are unknown. | Test readable type, clear labels, plain instructions, and options that do not assume a partner, ability to reach one's feet, or comfort with touch. Obtain practical review before adding physical instructions. |
| Are readers wary of wellness claims? | General information concerns and some demand for scientific support; direct book-reader evidence absent. | Ask readers to mark where a sentence asks them to believe more than the story or source establishes. |
These tests are proposed developmental work. No reader interviews or usability sessions were conducted for this report.
Two fashionable directions to avoid
- A nervous-system reset, trauma-release or vagus-nerve program built around the Wave. Those promises would require a distinct scientific and clinical evidence base. The market sources above establish none. Adding fashionable terminology would change the book's obligations and could overwhelm its observational strengths.
- A biohacking, longevity or quantified-self makeover. McKinsey's growth themes make these commercially visible, but that is not a manuscript fit test. Device scores, anti-aging promises and optimization challenges could displace the book's interest in attention and individual experience. Do not add them merely to make the book appear current.
Evidence boundary for the larger edit
The primary general-reader positioning remains an editorial hypothesis. There is enough evidence to justify testing clear narrative, modest participation and transparent claims. There is insufficient evidence here for a sales forecast, a demographic target, a medical benefit promise, or a decision that practitioners should become the primary readership. Category sales, comparable-book analysis and reactions to actual sample chapters should be assessed together before a final positioning decision.